Reach for the stars

Stars

I’ve just added a ratings option to my blog so you can tell me how great I am with one click. I would have done it sooner, but I’ve only just worked out how to turn on. All you need to do is click on the comments section of a post and mark it out of five stars.

Having done this, I thought it would be a good idea to go through what I’ve blogged so far and grade each post myself. Re-reading yourself tends to be pretty sobering, as the gulf between your rose-tinted recollection of your writing and its actual quality usually becomes apparent quite swiftly. Luckily, my own opinion of myself  is so high that there’s a fair bit of leeway.

What it did make me realise is that when it comes to blogging, shorter is almost always better. Nobody wants to read more than sixty seconds of anyone elses witterings. So I’ll stop.

2 responses to “Reach for the stars

  1. You’re right about making it short, of course without jeopardizing quality. 🙂

    • Thanks Walter. I think being brief (or at least succinct) is a very important part of quality, especially on the web. In fact I think I’d go as far as saying that shortness and quality are inextricably linked, and that the longer a post is, the harder it is for it to be worthwhile.

      It’s all about writing for your medium, and I know that when I see a post I’m going to have scroll through indeterminably I switch off straight away. But that just might be the way I read websites!

Leave a Reply

